Ten Towns Committee
Our Awards
Flashing icon that says: NewIn 2003, we received an Environmental Excellence Award from the NJ Department of Environmental Protection.

   Accepting the award
Ten Towns Chair Len Hamilton accepting the award from DEP Commissioner Bradley M. Campbell
The Ten Towns Great Swamp Watershed Management Committee is an intermunicipal group formed in July 1995 to develop a consensus among interested parties to prepare a Great Swamp Watershed Management Plan that is, in fact, implemented.

It is significant that the Committee was formed to offer a new approach to effectively develop a watershed management plan through cooperation at the local level after a number of instances of conflict and many unsuccessful efforts to reach this goal in prior years.

Since its formation, the Ten Towns Committee has become a model for the entire State of New Jersey for effective partnership, not only by all four levels of government (municipal, county, state and federal), but also private organizations including the Great Swamp Watershed Association, the Passaic River Coalition, and the Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions.

This honorable mention recognizes the ongoing work of the Committee in watershed management planning and protection.

In 2000, the Legislature recognized the successes of our first five years.

In 2001, Morris County recognized our sixth anniversary.

In 2002, the Environmental Protection Agency gave us its Environmental Quality Award.

EPA Honors Ten Towns Committee

May 8, 2002

MEMO TO: Long Hill Township Committee
FROM: Leonard W. Hamilton, Ph.D.
Vice Chair and Long Hill Representative
Ten Towns Committee
RE: EPA’s 2002 Environmental Quality Award

As Long Hill Township’s representative to the Ten Towns Great Swamp Watershed Management Committee, it was my pleasure to join the other members of the Executive Committee at the EPA’s regional headquarters in Manhattan to receive the Environmental Protection Agency’s 2002 Environmental Quality Award.

The EPA’s Region 2 covers all of New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, and we were honored to be among only seven recipients of the award in the category of Federal, State, Local or Tribal government agencies.

The award was presented by EPA Administrator Jane M. Kenny on April 30, 2002.

On behalf of the Ten Towns Executive Committee I would like to thank the Long Hill Township governing body for its continuing support of our efforts to protect this valuable natural resource.

Ten Towns executives
Members of Ten Towns Great Swamp Watershed Management Committee with 2002 EPA Environmental Quality Award.  From left, Jan Wotowicz, Secretary; J. Peter Braun, Executive Director; Leonard W. Hamilton, Vice-Chair; and Peter J. Messina, Chair.
Also in 2002, the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection awarded the Ten Towns Committee Second Place in their Watershed Management Awards program.

Ten Towns executives
Leonard W. Hamilton, Vice-Chair and Peter J. Messina, Chair receive the award from Commissioner Bradley Campbell.

Printable Version
Please send comments to the webmaster from this or any other page.
Our Awards
2023 © www.TenTowns.org/